Theory division is one of the major research divisions in the department of  Physics. Research in Theoretical Physics was initiated by Prof. K. Babu Joseph who later became the  Vice Chancellor of this university. He carried out research work in the areas of Quantum Field Theory, High Energy Physics, Nonlinear Dynamics, Cosmology, etc. Currently there are 12 students working in a wide spectrum of theoretical physics in a cross-disciplinary manner.

Our vision focuses on the

  • Development of a research portfolio which is competitive with the best in the world;

  • Strengthening of the University's leadership role among Research Institutes in India and abroad.

The main research areas include,

 Astrophysics                                    Cosmology

 Gravitation                                       Nonlinear Dynamics

 Nonlinear Optics                              Quantum Optics              

IUCAA Resource Centre

A centre established by the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA) to strengthen research in the field of astronomy and astrophysics in this department. The  Department is an Associate Centre of Theoretical Physics Seminar Circuit (TPSC) programme of  DST, Govt. of  India.              

 More details...   







DOP Home | | CUSAT






Theory Division, Department of Physics, CUSAT